Announcing the Open Toolchain Hackathon 2023

Hi everyone,

As we start to ramp up as a foundation it is really exciting to be announcing our first in person event since our Kick Off event in July 2022. On the 6th and 7th of March we will be hosting a mixed hardware & software hackathon in Hamburg, Germany!

More details are available on the OpenToolchain website

We even have some funding to help participants attend. You can register here.

Feel free to ask any questions below

5 Likes

Hi @julianstirling ,
this sounds really interesting!

However, I’m not involved in the Nimble project and I’m not a developer for one of the open toolchain software projects. Does it still make sense to apply?
I’m a professional software developer by training, but was leading/working on open source hardware projects in the last couple of years (FabMX, Laser4DIY, StereoNinja). I have come across a couple of issues while working on these projects and it’s very nice to see some are getting attention with the Open Toolchain and the Interfacer project, e.g. automated documentation. I was thinking about getting involved and would love to discuss these topics with the people behind these projects.
The hackathon might be a good opportunity for this. What do you think?

Best
Andreas

2 Likes

Yeah, please do! We need hardware people who are not already in the nimble project because we all have different workflows for designing our hardware and so this is one thing we want to learn about in the hackathon.

The fact you have background as a professional software dev is also really helpful, even if you don’t work on tools in the toolchain, you’ll “speak their language”. Really great to have people with feet in both camps.

Always happy to discuss automated documentation with everyone. I’d love to do some automated documentation at the hackathon. Also @pieterhijma and I should start a forum thread talking about our different approaches to this.